Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: wii hacked long ago has bootmii v1.1... trying to figure out where to restart hack?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question wii hacked long ago has bootmii v1.1... trying to figure out where to restart hack?

    So I'm trying to get m wii back up to speed and am wanting a suggestion as to what I should do.

    The wii was hacked previously and has Bootmii v1.1 and now the OS is 4.2u when a neighbor installed a game and chose to update the OS. I put it up after that, so now its back out and I'm wondering where I should start?

    I'm trying to follow the guide (http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html) should I begin at step 2 and redo the WAD install and then follow with the preloader?

    Thanks for any information.

    VB,

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,123
    Thanks
    957
    Thanked 1,106 Times in 873 Posts
    I'd would start all over, your BootMii is outdated. You will definitely want Priiloader (a much better version of Preloader) and to make a new NAND back up. Just follow the guide as it's written and you will be good to go.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You SNES_Master For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, great thanks.

    I just finished backing up the NAND... back to the mod.

  5. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Trying to load do the "Softmods with HOMEBREW CHANNEL installed" but when I click on HBC I just get a black screen.

    Whe I try to do the "4.0-4.2- Bannerbomb v2" and click on the load boot.dol I get "Failed to boot selected file".

    I think I'm stuck....
    Last edited by vbtalent; 12-31-2012 at 04:07 AM.

  6. #5
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Have you tried the B and C files?
    If you haven't yet, I would try those one by one...one of those will do the job.

    Quote Originally Posted by Guide
    download WiiMod-58-61_Hackmii_1.1.0_BB2.zip, Extract file to sd:\
    alternate Bannerbombv2 files>>-B, C-<< If the boot.dol does not load, try these, just extract to sd:\

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Jax For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So I'm a little lost.. go figure.

    My wii was hacked once before and boots to BootMii, if I choose HBC then all I get is a black screen.

    When I created the SD card using "WiiMod-58-61_Hackmii_1.1.0" my wii only boot to the preloader likewise with "WiiMod-58-61_Hackmii_1.1.0_BB2". So it needs something on the original SD card to boot to BootMii that isn't on either of the files mentioned?

    The B and C files only replace the private folder on the SD and it still won't boot to BootMii when using them.

    Thanks,

    [edit]

    I found that it needs the "bootmii" folder to get to the bootmii interface. So, I extracted "WiiMod-58-61_Hackmii_1.1.0_BB2" to the SD card and copied in the bootmi folder and tried to load boot.dol, and everything I try I get "Failed to boot selected file"
    Last edited by vbtalent; 01-01-2013 at 10:09 AM.

  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Any help in getting my wii remote re-synched with my wii? I was trying the "Boot2 Bootmii Option"and my wii remote doesn't work, it looks like it might get me going.

    Pressing the red buttons does not work..

  10. #8
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
    The Wii remote isn't supposed to work with BootMii, use the buttons on your Wii console instead.

  11. 2 Users Say Thank You to kunparekh18 For This Useful Post


  12. #9
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    To add to what Kunparekh18 said...look below for the button layout.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bootmii.org
    How do I control the BootMii menu without a WiiMote?

    Use a GC pad in port 1 to navigate the menu.
    If you don't have one, you can use the Power button to cycle through options in the menu, and Reset to select.
    You just need to briefly press each button.

  13. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    With the "Boot2 Bootmii Option" in the "other desperate options" section of the how to the power button and reset do not cycle and select, I believe this needs the wii remote.

    When trying the ""WiiMod-58-61_Hackmii_1.1.0" method the power and reset buttons work as stated.

    I'm essentially stuck at "Failed to boot selected file".


    Thanks,

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •