Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45

Thread: Problem with GameCube Backups on USB

  1. #21
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,919
    Thanks
    878
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ifinx

    I double checked to make sure if the partition was marked as Active. Partition #1 which is the Fat32 part is set as Primary and Active. Partition #2 is the NTFS part and it is set only to Primary not Active. I tried it again just to make sure, but I am still getting a black screen.
    IOS used to install DM? Location of ISOs on the hard drive (correct location example using Zelda Wind Waker: USB/Games/GZLE01/game.iso)?

  2. #22
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 64 Times in 53 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Have you tried setting the second partition to Logical, I don't think DM or Wii games work if you have more than one partition marked as Primary ( had no idea it was possible ) .

  3. 1 User Says Thank You DiscMurderer For This Useful Post


  4. #23
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SNES_Master View Post
    IOS used to install DM? Location of ISOs on the hard drive (correct location example using Zelda Wind Waker: USB/Games/GZLE01/game.iso)?
    The IOS I used to install DM is from there website. V2.6 I think. Yes the Location of Zelda The Wind Waker is exactly like you have it. I used DMToolBox to convert them into what they were suppose to be as well as the location.

    Quote Originally Posted by DiscMurderer View Post
    Have you tried setting the second partition to Logical, I don't think DM or Wii games work if you have more than one partition marked as Primary ( had no idea it was possible ) .
    From my understanding about Primary and Logical drives. Primary is whats used in the newer versions of windows 7 and 8. Logical and Extended drives are obsolete since they were used in old Windows like 95 and 98. I wouldn't think it would matter for the Wii, but I will try it and see what happens.

  5. #24
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @DiskMurderer - I just tried use Partiton #2 (NTFS) as logical and again its still gives me only a black screen, but thank you for the suggestion. It's probably something so simple it isn't even funny.

  6. #25
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 64 Times in 53 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Hmm ... does your disc drive function at all, will it read discs ?
    If not, it's possible the Wii can't see the disc drive ( Or it just doesn't read discs anymore due to whatever reason ), All of the USB Loaders out there need to be able to tell the disc drive there's a game in it to fool it into booting the game you've selected/

    If it can read discs or you know the Wii can see it, I'm honestly not sure what the problem could be.

  7. #26
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,919
    Thanks
    878
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ifinx

    1) The IOS I used to install DM is from there website. V2.6 I think.

    2) Yes the Location of Zelda The Wind Waker is exactly like you have it. I used DMToolBox to convert them into what they were suppose to be as well as the location
    1) That's not what I meant...when you installed the Dios Mios 2.6 wad did you load IOS 236 first? You should always use IOS236 to install wads.

    2) Try the raw ISO generated by CleanRip. Just copy/paste the ISO into the proper location and change it's name to game.iso

    3) Please stop Multi posting, I don't want you to get on infraction or ban from one of the mods. Either wait 24hrs, wait for someone to respond, or use the edit button.

    Quote Originally Posted by DiscMurderer
    Hmm ... does your disc drive function at all, will it read discs ?
    If not, it's possible the Wii can't see the disc drive ( Or it just doesn't read discs anymore due to whatever reason ), All of the USB Loaders out there need to be able to tell the disc drive there's a game in it to fool it into booting the game you've selected/

    If it can read discs or you know the Wii can see it, I'm honestly not sure what the problem could be.
    Actually, speaking as someone who had dead drive, it doesn't matter if the drive can read discs as long as it's properly connected. However, the only way to get the games on the HDD would be via downloading them online or, preferably, using a friends hacked Wii to rip them.

  8. #27
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 64 Times in 53 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Right, that's true, if you remember my situation a while back, the Wii couldn't see mine because it wasn't connected to the motherboard, but yeah as long as it's connected the Wii should be able to see it.

    @OP : Have you tinkered with the insides at all like I did ? ( I lost a few screws inside, I yanked the drive out and lost the brown clamp that connects the cable that lets the motherboard talk to the disc drive )

  9. #28
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SNES_Master View Post
    1) That's not what I meant...when you installed the Dios Mios 2.6 wad did you load IOS 236 first? You should always use IOS236 to install wads.

    2) Try the raw ISO generated by CleanRip. Just copy/paste the ISO into the proper location and change it's name to game.iso

    3) Please stop Multi posting, I don't want you to get on infraction or ban from one of the mods. Either wait 24hrs, wait for someone to respond, or use the edit button.
    Oh. Well I am not sure. When I install a WAD I use WiiMod and it says IOS236 v54321 at the top right hand corner and AHBPROT Enabled under it. Is that correct or do I need to try something else? I will try to use CleanRip. It shows two on there. One for Wii and one for Gamecube. Now is the one for Gamecube a Wii Homebrew but intended for ripping Gamecube Games or is it a homebrew for the Gamecube?

    Quote Originally Posted by DiscMurderer View Post
    Hmm ... does your disc drive function at all, will it read discs ?
    If not, it's possible the Wii can't see the disc drive ( Or it just doesn't read discs anymore due to whatever reason ), All of the USB Loaders out there need to be able to tell the disc drive there's a game in it to fool it into booting the game you've selected/

    If it can read discs or you know the Wii can see it, I'm honestly not sure what the problem could be.
    Nah my disk channel works well and it's ripped all my games. I just prefer to not use the disk drive as I am always worried which as much as its played it will burn out. So the HDD comes in handy big time. I did the same for my PS3 for awhile, but got tired of the Firmware Spoofers and everything just to get a game to play.

    EDIT: @Disk_Murderer - No I haven't opened up my Wii at all. The case hasn't be tampered with at all.
    Last edited by Ifinx; 12-30-2012 at 11:31 AM.

  10. #29
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,919
    Thanks
    878
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ifinx

    Oh. Well I am not sure. When I install a WAD I use WiiMod and it says IOS236 v54321 at the top right hand corner and AHBPROT Enabled under it. Is that correct or do I need to try something else? I will try to use CleanRip. It shows two on there. One for Wii and one for Gamecube. Now is the one for Gamecube a Wii Homebrew but intended for ripping Gamecube Games or is it a homebrew for the Gamecube?
    Wii version is for Wii system and can do Wii and GC games so long as your Wii is GC compatible

    GC version is for GC systems and can only rip GC games since that is all GC systems can read.

    And yes, IOS236 v54321 AHBPROT should be ok for installs.

  11. #30
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SNES_Master View Post
    Wii version is for Wii system and can do Wii and GC games so long as your Wii is GC compatible

    GC version is for GC systems and can only rip GC games since that is all GC systems can read.

    And yes, IOS236 v54321 AHBPROT should be ok for installs.
    Ok. I just wanted to make sure before I tried using the App. Let me see if this works. I used to play Wind Waker and Resident Evil on my Wii before I softmodded it so it is Compatible. So wish me luck.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •