Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is my Wii hosed?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Is my Wii hosed?

    I'll be as brief as possible.

    Semi-bricked Wii running 4.3u. Runs games, cannot get into the system menu. NO HBC or any other hacks installed. Used to have Wasabi V1 on OEM drive but drive failed entirely so swapped it out. NO MOD chip.

    Is there a way to obtain my MAC Address without access to the System Menu? I have no NAND, or any other type of back up info.

    I verified 4.3U using SaveMiiFii GC Controller. Tried running update from Skyward Sword and while Wii said it needed an update, it just kind of went through the motions, said update was complete and then let me load the game. Reboot Wii, no system menu. Is this thing hosed or is there still hope?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just check your wireless router. Most routers display name, ip and MAC address...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Unfortunately my Wii hasn't been connected to my wireless network in such a long time that the info is not there BUT...

    I found something called FE100 that apparently lets me extract the MAC Address from a save game after transferring it to my SD card. I did that with multiple games saves and they all present the same MAC Addy so I think it's real. I read somewhere how to add the HBC to to a 4.3U Wii using an SD Card so now I have to find that........

    OK, using the earlier program, the modmii suite, and Lego Indiana Jones I was able to get HBC, and Bootmii as boot2 installed. Currently running NAND Backup! (THAT's a long process)


    Please Use The EDIT Function.
    Last edited by Jax; 11-08-2012 at 07:05 AM. Reason: Merged Posts.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Good luck, hope all goes well!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok the softmod is in place now but I still have two issues.

    1. The Wii Settings menu is still giving me the Opera error. I know I need to recover the ability to access it but how?

    2. I am so far unable to play any burned game backups. What is the best option to allow this?

    Does anyone know if the Wii D2E drive will play burned backups?
    Last edited by Jax; 11-08-2012 at 07:06 AM. Reason: Merged Posts.

  6. #6
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,622
    Thanks
    3,205
    Thanked 1,322 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Check here Wii Chip Data Base, put your info in and you will get your answer.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Jax For This Useful Post


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •