Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hard Drive Freeze.. ?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hard Drive Freeze.. ?

    Hey, I've hacked about a dozen wiis and hard drives with only success until recently. I can't get this hard drive to work on my personal wii or the wii it's hacked for. It will load games and play for about 15 seconds, then the wii freezes. If I restart the console it will do the same thing. It's almost like the drive goes to sleep? Also, if I exit the game before the wii freezes then open a USB Loader, the wii freezes.

    Things I've tried:
    -WBFS Format hdd (dual partition, ISO Files)
    -WBFS Format hdd (single partition, ISO Files)
    -NTFS Format (WBFS Files)
    -Configurable USB Loader (Current Version)
    -WiiFlow
    -Added games, removed games, tried other games, etc

    So to sum up: my wii works fine with my hard drive. The other wii I'm hacking works fine with my hard drive. The hard drive works fine from my computer. Neither of the wiis work with this particular hdd I'm hacking. The hdd is labeled Acer and device manager says it's WDC WD50 00BPVT-22HXZT1 (I Couldn't find it in the Compatibility List). Any advice? I'm trying to avoid buying another hdd :/

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,296
    Thanks
    1,488
    Thanked 2,621 Times in 1,929 Posts
    Well if it doesn't work, and its not on the compatibility list, that kind of tells you that it probably isn't compatible....

    Sent using the WiiHacks app. Please excuse the brevity, punctuation and spelling.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Any thoughts or theories on why the hard drive would work at first, then freeze after time?

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,296
    Thanks
    1,488
    Thanked 2,621 Times in 1,929 Posts
    Did you disable sleep mode/standby/power saving modes?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cjizzle View Post
    Did you disable sleep mode/standby/power saving modes?
    Do you mean disable these modes from the hdd? I wouldn't know how to?

  6. #6
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,704
    Thanks
    3,234
    Thanked 1,346 Times in 1,122 Posts
    Your HDD should have come with it's own programs installed in the HDD and installed them to your CPU.
    There should be a way to stop it from going to sleep from your computer using the options that were installed from when you first hooked your HDD in to the Computer..

    If you are not sure,go to the Manufacturers web site to inquire how to do so.
    Last edited by Jax; 08-13-2012 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Added More..

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    is the hdd getting powerd with an external electricity cable or is it only plugged
    into the wii?
    maybe he's getting not enough power

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •