Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can my wii use HDD and backup discs?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can my wii use HDD and backup discs?

    I have been reading on the site for a while and I keep reading about backup GC discs. I backed up my SSBM for a test and I can't get it to load through any loader (USBGX, CFG, NEOGAMMA) it just goes to green screen and reboots. Right now I have all my wii games backed up on HDD and they play fine but GC backups from discs do not.

    I have read that you cannot have your wii configured to read backups from discs AND HDD at the same time...is this true?

    I also read that it's not possible to rip GC games to HDD and them be able to play without a HARDMOD. is that also true?

    The burn is fine because I was able to get it working on a friends system but he isn't sure what he did.

    Forgive me if this has been answered elsewhere. I continue to look for the information but am unable to find a specific response.

  2. #2
    New Member IBe6UBe9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
    How old is your wii?
    Can you play backed up wii games by disc?
    I have read that you cannot have your wii configured to read backups from discs AND HDD at the same time...is this true?
    False
    I also read that it's not possible to rip GC games to HDD and them be able to play without a HARDMOD. is that also true?
    Look here http://www.wiihacks.com/other-faq-gu...os-v2-0-a.html
    and here
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...kups-disc.html

    Best place on the net for all your wii needs

    Useful Links,
    Click the Spoiler


  3. 1 User Says Thank You IBe6UBe9 For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Bought it in 2008 but and it's on 4.3U

    I can load DVDs from WiiMC and I don't get an error message when I try to load one in USB loader GX...it sees it and comes up to the screen to select start/play "x" game but then the green screen reboot. So is it likely that I can play them at all?


    "There is no loading of Gamecube backups, with a usb device, on a Wii that has only been softmodded."

    That what it said in the second guide...but the first one seemed to contradict this.


    So basically if I follow all the steps I should be able to play backup discs and load my Wii games from my HDD?

    or

    My HDD is formatted in WBFS...can I make a different section for GC games in FAT32? or would I need to redo the whole thing in FAT32?
    Last edited by Bregowine; 07-21-2012 at 08:16 PM.

  5. #4
    New Member IBe6UBe9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
    With DIOS MIOS you can play some GC games from a hard drive but it's new and experimental. You would be better off the use discs to play GC games for now so use the second guide in post #2.

    Best place on the net for all your wii needs

    Useful Links,
    Click the Spoiler


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    So I can play both Wii backups on HDD and gamecube backup discs on the same system without conflicting with each other?

  7. #6
    New Member IBe6UBe9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bregowine View Post
    So I can play both Wii backups on HDD and gamecube backup discs on the same system without conflicting with each other?
    Yes that is correct

    Best place on the net for all your wii needs

    Useful Links,
    Click the Spoiler


  8. #7
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 489 Times in 428 Posts
    If you get a green screen, that means it is an out of region game. Try and force your region in the game settings of your loader

    For example: You have a ntsc (u.s.a.) Wii. You are trying to play a pal (Europe, or other country) game. Go into your loader, select the game, find the settings and force to your region, ntsc or pal.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You playerkp420 For This Useful Post


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •