Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: House of the dead: Overkill fails to backup on to external hard drive. Please help!

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Post House of the dead: Overkill fails to backup on to external hard drive. Please help!

    For some odd reason it just wont install to my external hard drive. It is the only game that fails. It says that it fails to read it. It cant be the lens or disk because the disk has just been bought and is new and have just finished backing up a load of other games. I am on Firmware 4.3e and am using CFG usb loader.

    Thanks for your time,

    Adam
    Last edited by Adamz96; 07-10-2012 at 02:02 AM.

  2. #2
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    3,219
    Thanked 1,337 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Try ripping it with another loader.
    Try ripping it to a thumb drive , if you have one.

    Find a copy to install from your Computer.
    Don't ask where and don't tell us where you got it from.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You Jax For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ok. But for some reason other loaders don't work on my console. They just hang on the loading screen.

  5. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamz96 View Post
    Ok. But for some reason other loaders don't work on my console. They just hang on the loading screen.
    Black screens happen when you have out of date d2x. Try and reinstall the latest version and it should start working.
    Last edited by Anteara; 07-09-2012 at 04:17 PM.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Anteara View Post
    Black screens happen when you have out of date d2x. Try and reinstall the latest version and it should start working.
    No black screen, just stays on the loading screen. Does that mean the same thing? If so how do I fix it?

    Ok guys, I have got USB loader GX working by just putting the latest version on my sd card, the older one just hung on loading screen. I have tried installing the game in it however it goes at very low speeds (around 60kps) and says it will take 11 hours to complete. I will try another hard drive when I get one. If anyone has any other ideas please let me know. Thanks a lot.
    Last edited by Jax; 07-10-2012 at 04:29 AM. Reason: Merged Posts.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    Here are things you can try:
    1) Check to make sure the problem isn't in reading from the disc, just play the game a bit and make sure there is no stuttering, clanking sounds, freezing, etc.
    2) If the above is fine, check it's not usb loader gx itself, configurable boot loader is updated much more frequently and is regarded as more stable.
    3) If it's still going slow, test installing with another hard drive, if it is NOT possible to get another hard drive to test, you could instead test the hard drive by plugging in your hard drive to your computer and copying a large file.

    It's probably just your hard drive is old and unable to write at a good speed.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You Anteara For This Useful Post


  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well I returned the game saying that it was faulty cause I thought it was weird that all the other games worked fine. Tried to to backup new copy which I got replaced and it worked! Must have been a defective disk or something.

    Thanks Guys.

  10. 1 User Says Thank You Adamz96 For This Useful Post

    Jax

  11. #8
    Jax
    Jax is offline
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Schenectady,NY
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    3,219
    Thanked 1,337 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adamz96 View Post
    Well I returned the game saying that it was faulty cause I thought it was weird that all the other games worked fine. Tried to to backup new copy which I got replaced and it worked! Must have been a defective disk or something.

    Thanks Guys.
    This does happen,I had the Wii Sports that comes with the system that would not work at all.(Brand new Disc)
    Glad you got it situated.

    Thread Closed. Problem resolved byAdamz96.

  12. 1 User Says Thank You Jax For This Useful Post


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •