Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Region Error! When trying to start Mario Party 9 (J)

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Region Error! When trying to start Mario Party 9 (J)

    Hello,
    I have a hard modded wii (I believe it was wii clip, done 4-5 years ago?). I'm currently on 4.1U firmware. When I try to run the Japanese version of Mario Party 9, the game loads on the disc channel but when i start the game I get a screen with bright red letters that just says Region Error! According to ModMii, all my stuff is up to date. Not really sure what else to do, I tried two older games from Japan and they still run fine. Here is my system check if that helps.
    Thank you in advance.

    Spoiler

    Last edited by LimeMario; 04-28-2012 at 10:52 AM.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hi
    Is it softmodded too, or just hardmodded? Is it the original game or a backup? If it's a backup, did you try the original disc? If you lost the original disk, have you tried using IMGBurn to extract the ISO from the backup, and then burn it again? That should work.
    Ask if you need anything else.
    <----- Click thanks if I helped!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello, thanks for replying.
    The wii is softmodded as well. I was using the original disk, and but I also tried a backup disk where i extracted an ISO from the original, and changed the region to USA but I still got the same problem. I did get the game to work after changing some settings and running it with GeckoOS, I believe the setting that finally fixed it was Force CIOS. I suppose if I can just get it to work with GeckoOS its a dead issue but..

    I still do have two strange issues, which may or may not be related. If relevant, I had updated to 4.2 in the past before downgrading to 4.1. (I used the auto-generated guide by mod-mii to downgrade)

    Whenever I I try to run BootMii from the homebrew channel by pressing the home button, my screen goes black for about a minute and then it just reboots the system. I don't get any picture. So I haven't yet been able to make a NAND backup.

    I can run the priloader by holding the reset button, but when i try to change the priloader settings using MMM, it just kicks me back to the screen I was before and doesn't change any of the settings. According to mod-mii I have the latest version of priloader and MMM, so I'm not sure why the two programs are out of sync.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,296
    Thanks
    1,488
    Thanked 2,621 Times in 1,929 Posts
    The bootmii issue is not related to your game playing issue. Run the hackmii installer and in the bootmii installation options select "prepare an sd card". It will write the required files to your sd, enabling you to launch it from the HBC.
    As far as priiloader, launch it by holding in your reset button during power up and then select "system menu hacks". Set your hacks from there.

    Using an app such as neogamma you should be able to launch your backup by changing the region settings. Once you save those settings you shouldnt have to mess with it again.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Just wanted to say this, BootMii is not on your wii like Priiloader is, its on your SD, so the SD you used with HackMii has to be in your wii in order to boot to BootMii.
    <----- Click thanks if I helped!

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Marko1000Marko For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cjizzle View Post
    The bootmii issue is not related to your game playing issue. Run the hackmii installer and in the bootmii installation options select "prepare an sd card". It will write the required files to your sd, enabling you to launch it from the HBC.
    As far as priiloader, launch it by holding in your reset button during power up and then select "system menu hacks". Set your hacks from there.

    Using an app such as neogamma you should be able to launch your backup by changing the region settings. Once you save those settings you shouldnt have to mess with it again.
    You were right my mistake was I didn't prepare the SD card. Making a NAND backup now. Thanks guys.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •