Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem with HDD's, issue may be Wii's USB port?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with HDD's, issue may be Wii's USB port?

    First of all, i'm gonna give a little bit of a backstory to my Wii issues, so please bear with me, and i'll try to keep it somewhat brief.

    So, about six months ago, i tried to softmod my wii. Everything seemed to work just fine, i even managed to load up Super Smash Bros Brawl
    from my HDD. But after that first succesful attempt, a plethora of problems arose (more on that later).
    Even after alot of help from members of this forum, which included going through the softmod guide multible times and even buying a new HDD,
    i couldn't solve any of my issues. At that point, i was more than fed up with it all, having tried over a month to get it to work, so i decided to
    just put this modding thing on ice for a while.

    Well, it's been more than a while now, so i thought i should give this thing another try.
    First then, my issues. The short story would be that i simply can't get any of my HDD's to work properly with the Wii.
    And yes, i've been through all the formating the correct way and all that, so that is not where the problem lies (and as i mentioned before, it already
    worked once before). Below i've compiled info on all of my HDD's (2 of them that are both on the compability list + plus a nameless thumbdrive), the issues i get, games i've tried etc.

    Spoiler



    Personally, i start to get the feeling that the problem might lie with the Wii's usb port. I don't know if a usb port can get partially damaged, but it feels like it
    can only read some of the data on the drives, and even then just some of the time. Furthering this feeling is the fact that i have no problem with freezes of anykind when nothing is connected to the usb port. I can launch all the homebrew apps fine from the SD card (a 2 GB sandisk). I can even launch and play GBA games from it using VBA GX.

    Is there any way to check if the problem lies with the usb port?
    Or any other suggestions? Any and all help would be appreciated. I feel so frustrated when i got it to work once, and then after that nothing works no matter what i do
    And sorry for the uber long post, i just figured i'd cover as much info as possible from the beginning.

    Also, here is a system check, just in case it'll help in any way.

    Spoiler


  2. #2
    New Member souralien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    So im no expert but i have a test idea for you. try dumping a couple of movies on your hard drives and run said movies in WIIMC. lets see if your drives are running. another quick check would be to fire up cfgloader and see if it asks you to select a device. like i said im no expert but its a start. homebrew browser will also tell you if your usb is being seen in the text it shows while loading.
    Last edited by souralien; 04-23-2012 at 07:48 AM.

  3. #3
    New Member IBe6UBe9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
    Does the disc drive in your wii work?

    Best place on the net for all your wii needs

    Useful Links,
    Click the Spoiler


  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by souralien View Post
    So im no expert but i have a test idea for you. try dumping a couple of movies on your hard drives and run said movies in WIIMC. lets see if your drives are running. another quick check would be to fire up cfgloader and see if it asks you to select a device. like i said im no expert but its a start. homebrew browser will also tell you if your usb is being seen in the text it shows while loading.
    So i tried out putting a couple of movie files on the drives (an MKV, MP4 and AVI in each of them), and lo and behold, it found and played the files through WIIMC on
    both the hard drives and the thumbdrive (the only problem was lagging in the MKV and MP4, but that was universal on all drives, so i'm guessing that was because of the
    file formats and nothing else). But when i try using CFGloader, it just says that the device is not responding, no matter how many times i retry. The only device that responds is the thumb drive, but that one comes with its own share of problems, wich i wrote about in the OP.
    Edit/ So i tried using the hard drives with CFGloader again, and this time the wii just freezes on CFGloader's startup when i have the hard drives connected, and WIIMC can't see the drives anymore :/. This is really confusing :S

    @IBe6UBe9, yes, the disc drive is still working
    Last edited by Glottis89; 04-23-2012 at 01:24 PM.

  5. #5
    New Member IBe6UBe9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
    As souralien said "I'm no expert" but your mod could be updated.Your running d2x-v6 and the guide has d2x-v7. Try re-modding your wii and see if that helps.

    Best place on the net for all your wii needs

    Useful Links,
    Click the Spoiler


  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Goto to disk management in your computer while the drive is plugged in. Once your at disk management then right click on your drive and click partion active. If it is gray still click it. It really did work for me. And just type it on google for how to get to disk management.

  7. #7
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,131
    Thanks
    1,430
    Thanked 2,520 Times in 1,861 Posts
    A little bit more info for anyone here who is interested: WiiMC doesn't use cIOS to communicate with the HDD, it uses IOS58, of which if you followed the ANY Wii guide is an untouched official N IOS. The idea to test with WiiMC was a good one. Since the OP is having issues with both WiiMC and backup loaders it stands to reason it is HDD related, not mod related. (Of course, I have seen stranger things happen...lol) Awhile back a buddy of mine was having problems with his dual partition HDD. After going thru all kinds of diagnosing, reinstalling IOS/cIOS etc I finally asked him what order the partitions were. The first was NTFS, the second FAT32. So we swapped them, made the first FAT32 primary and active, and the second NTFS. This fixed his issue. Since Im not an expert either with dual partitions I figured I would share this experience.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,560 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Have you set the spin down on the hdd to never spin down? Try making one big fat32 partition, not with windows.

    Sent from my SPH-M930BST using Tapatalk 2
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mauifrog View Post
    Have you set the spin down on the hdd to never spin down? Try making one big fat32 partition, not with windows.

    Sent from my SPH-M930BST using Tapatalk 2
    I don't know if it's set to never spin down, as iv'e never changed any type of setting on the harddrives apart from making separate partitions
    on 2 of them. I'm not even sure how to make them spin down or not. How do i check and or change it, and how is it supposed to be configured?
    I also changed one of the hard drives to be simply one big fat32 partition using Easeus partition master, but still got the same issues on the Wii.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,560 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    You set spindown or sleep with the software that comes with the hdd. Try plugging it in just before you load cfg and try set it to never sleep
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •