Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need help with Wii Internet after softmod, multiple error codes

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need help with Wii Internet after softmod, multiple error codes

    So I followed the "Mod any Wii guide" and used the letterbomb option. Took about 30 minutes last night, and worked great so I went to bed. Woke up this morning, tried to get on and use the homebrew browser, but it said something along the lines of "can't connect". So I checked my internet settings, and weirdly, none of my 3 internet settings were chosen as in use. So I chose the one for my home network and started the connection test. then all of this happened:

    connection test takes about 1 minute, and then gives me error code 52231.
    I check nintendo website, try to troubleshoot that error, and by doing so, i get multiple errors (at different times) :52230,52031, 51031, etc

    in addition to messing with wii settings, I also tried:
    changing router bandwidth, SSID, password protection type, channel, firewall settings, portforwarding...etc.

    I'm worried that the softmod had some effect on my wii's wifi adapter. I searched the forums and didn't see very many people with problems like mine, so I might just be paranoid.

    any help would be appreciated.

    wii information:
    System menu 4.3u
    only things installed are from the "softmod any wii guide"
    external hard drive attached with some of my game backups.
    SD card 2 gig sandisk in slot, only has usb loader channels on it.
    no other devices attached

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    You most likely just have the settings wrong.
    I've never heard of the softmod messing with anyone's internet connection


    One easy solution if you can't fix it would be to get a USB to ethernet adapter and plug your wii directly into your router without the wifi.
    You will get a much better connection that way

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Delete your internet settings and try again. Did you mess with your region settings?

    Sent from my SPH-M930BST using Tapatalk 2
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    young@heart: Yeah I tried that and it worked, the only problem is that the router is on the first floor of my house, and the wii is supposed to be on the second D:

    @mauifrog: yeah i reset all three of my connections, and tried manually setting the connection settings on one, and trying automatic settings on the other. neither worked, but they both had different errors DX

    And I didn't mess with my region settings, followed your guide and figured I didn't need to mess with the region settings since I don't have any non US region games. (btw your guide was awesome, concise and straightforward).

    I'm beginning to think it might have been a coincidence that this happened right after I softmodded. My Wii is very old (one of the first) maybe it just pooped out on me?

  5. #5
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,131
    Thanks
    1,430
    Thanked 2,518 Times in 1,860 Posts
    Are any other wifi devices in your house seeing and working with your router?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cjizzle View Post
    Are any other wifi devices in your house seeing and working with your router?
    yep. I even asked my friend to bring over his Wii to test if it was some kind of incompatibility with the router( a stretch since it worked before), but that worked fine .

    If I try to redo the softmod, is it possible that it will help? I'm kind of running out of ideas D:

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,168
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,559 Times in 2,969 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    At this time I would not try anything with the wii. You could try a different wifi channel, try to disable encryption, try to move the wii closer to the router. Give it a day or two of testing. The wii will not go online unless it passes its connection test with nintendo. This connection test can fail for many reasons unrelated to your wii. I have had failed connection test many many times and they have resolved, usually I change my wifi encryption or just wait, but it could just be random bad luck. Post back with your results, I think it will sort out. Best of luck.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Will do. I'll post back on saturday (or sooner if it works ) with my results. thanks for all the help guys.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •