Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Wii resolution issue after softmodding (everything else works fine)

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Could my 16:9 issue be tied to not running in 480p? I want to invest in cables but I wonder why my 16:9 is messed up.

  2. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    It could also be the 480p/480i setting. Since he used to have component cables, the Wii may have gotten stuck into a progressive scanning mode, and the Wii/TV cannot process the signal it's trying to send on the AV cables. There's no change is the display size, but 480p does have slightly better resolution than 480i.

    I don't know if the Wii is smart enough to kick back to 480i if you swap the cables back from component to composite.

  3. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is there a way to force a game to run in 4:3 to see if the black bar is removed? I probably want to go buy some component cables now but this issue is really bugging me.

    On 16:9 my screen edges are cut off (not sure if this is due to cables or not) and on 4:3 I get black bars on the top and bottom.

  4. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    I know the most current USBLoader GX has two options "force NTSC" and "Force NTSC 480P". Being that the only two forms of NTSC the Wii can display are NTSC 480i and NTSC 480p... I have to assume that "Force NTSC" will make it display in 480i.

    *EDIT*

    Sorry, with the setting that i posted before... I have my TV zoom changed. On a zoom of "normal" I have black bars as well, even though the wii is setup for 16:9. I have to change my TV's zoom (aspect ratio) to wide, for the screen to be filled and look correct.
    Last edited by Yoinx; 03-09-2012 at 03:40 PM.

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ah, so you get the black bars also? I just bought component cables at the store and after hooking them up the Wii gets a display but it's all in black and white and won't let me select 480p.... why am I cursed?

    Okay fixed that but are certain games not meant to be played in 16:9 no matter what? Still cuts off the edge of my Wii screens which seems dumb they would include this option if this is all that happens. Any tips on this?
    Last edited by richruzz; 03-09-2012 at 04:18 PM.

  6. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Yeah, I get the black bars as well. I just didnt realize it was zoomed, which gives it the correct size. the wii uses anamorphic 16:9, which means instead of changing it's resolution... it changes the shape of the pixels it puts out from square to rectangle... so that when the tv scales it, it's the right shape/size.

    If you're using component cables, you typically need to change your tv's input from the composite/av setting to the component setting. The TV processes the signals different... using the wrong one typically gives you the black&white look.

    Personally, unless you need the progressive scan instead of interlacing, I'd take the component cables back and just let your TV scale the image... Since that's what the Wii is putting it out to do.

    I'd upload a comparison of the normal zoom with the bars versus a widescreen zoom... since at normal the circles on the screen look like ovals.... but for some reason the forum wont take my images.... even though I resized them down to about 150kb each.
    Last edited by Yoinx; 03-09-2012 at 04:27 PM.

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I fixed the black and white screen since there was a switch to input it into HD. But whenever I play on 16:9 the sides of my screen get eaten slightly which cuts off game menus or I play on 4:3 and get black bars on the games top and bottom looking semi smushed on my TV.

  8. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Does anyone else have this problem when running 16:9 that your game/screen edges get cut out no matter your TV settings? And when running on 4:3 I get the black bars at the top and bottom, but found out if I change my TV level to Zoom it seems to fit right at full screen. (being on full gives the black bar on top and bottom)

    Looks like I am missing -5 and +5 on each side but vertically I believe I am fine. (this is when playing on 16:9)

    Just double checked again and on both aspect rations I am missing 5 and -5 on my horizontal axis no matter what zoom or mode I run it in. Anyone have ideas how to correct this?
    Last edited by richruzz; 03-09-2012 at 05:41 PM.

  9. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Here are my zoom settings with my previously posted settings:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1659941/DSCN0197.JPG

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1659941/DSCN0198.JPG


    Yours *should* be about the same.

  10. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My vertical axis is okay, it's just my horizontal one that is screwed up and is pretty noticeable cutting off the sides of some menus when in games. Both aspect ratios cut it off, but the previous a bit less than 16:9 does.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •