Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Sending softmodded wii to Nintendo

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sending softmodded wii to Nintendo

    Well, I my softmodded wii had a hardware issue and I really want to send it to Nintendo. I can repair it myself, but sending it is cheaper so that's out of the question. I heard that even if you go through those guides that teach you how to turn your wii into a virgin again, Nintendo can still tell that you softmodded your wii. Is that true? is there ANY way that you can prevent them from finding out that your wii is softmodded? (Sending it to Nintendo is my choice and I don't want to change my mind.)

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    No matter what you do, there will be some traces of the mod left on there. If they want to find it they will.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Would there be any consequences if they find out? (except for me wasting my money on shipping and not getting it repaired)

  5. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    probably not, just an unrepaired wii most likely.

  6. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I'll ship it. This question is out of the blue, but what DO I ship it in? (just in case it goes through some rough terrains on the delivery)

    I don't double posting is allowed but I just can't FIND THE EDIT POST BUTTON but if I do send it to Nintendo, should I re-format my wii or turn it into a virgin first then re-format it?
    Last edited by cjizzle; 02-26-2012 at 09:56 AM.

  8. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    Well, sending it to Nintendo is not going to be recommended by anyone here. If you choose to do so, the original box is probably the best option to keep it protected.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  10. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So should I make my wii a virgin first? Or should I just re-format it?

  11. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Nancy the Moderator

    VWA, Game Master, News Hound
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    Red_Gh0st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico. Sexyness: 2376
    Posts
    6,289
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 2,144 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    Dint format it, make it a virgin first theres a step by step guide

    Sent from my iPhone 5 using WiiHacks App

  12. 1 User Says Thank You Red_Gh0st For This Useful Post


  13. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I'll do that right now.

    OH and one more thing (man, I feel so bad not knowing how to edit posts and double posting), IF I make a bootmii (as boot 2) backup, can I restore it on my wii after I send it to Nintendo?
    Last edited by cjizzle; 02-26-2012 at 08:16 PM.

  14. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,297
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,622 Times in 1,930 Posts
    Edit button is above these arrows-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------^^^^^^

    And BTW, what exactly is wrong with your console anyways? Just curious...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •