Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Nintendo wii black screen after clicking start to play a game

  1. #1

    Nintendo wii black screen after clicking start to play a game

    I bought a used nintendo wii, and not sure how to fix it. I don't care if its hacked or not just want to play my games. I think thats how it got messed up is from somebody trying to hack it. When I click start to play a game the screen goes black, and controller loses sync. I tried to update the console using the internet, but it gave me an error. Is their a way to factory reset the software on the wii cause thats probably all that needs done.

    Its version 4.3u
    Last edited by amdfanboy; 01-14-2012 at 07:46 AM.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Is it a backup game you are trying to play through the Nintendo Disk Channel?


  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by toby1978 View Post
    Did you try Formating it? I had to do that before with one.
    No, didn't know I could do that. I'll check google for help formatting it.

    Quote Originally Posted by narse1979 View Post
    Is it a backup game you are trying to play through the Nintendo Disk Channel?
    No. Didn't get any back up games with it. Its an actual disc with the disc channel. No hacking things are installed like homebrew or anything like that. I am kind of familiar with homebrew cause I did that to my wii, but couldn't get it to work so I reverted back to normal, and gave up. This is a different wii, I have 2 so I can have a party, and play the same game on 2 consoles with friends. That is one reason I wanted to mod my first one so I wouldn't have to buy a second copy of every game that offers 8 or more players through wifi.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    But you think that someone has messed around with the wii . IE Modding. It could have priiloader which is blocking disc updates.... Power off. Press reset and keep hold of it when powering on! If the wii boots to the menu then you probably don't have it and its another issue. If it boots to a white screen stating priiloader version etc down bottom then you have it..


  7. #7
    I reformatted, reset it, and still no go. It booted to the wii menu when i reset it. The wii is the newer black version if that helps any.

  8. #8
    I just tried a different game, and it worked just fine. Might just be Mario Kart that is giving me the black screen, but why? I have another copy of mario kart I know works cause I played it on my other wii.
    Last edited by amdfanboy; 01-14-2012 at 12:29 PM.

  9. #9
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,183
    We really don't know what has been done to your wii, so there is no way to pinpoint the problem. I would suggest following the softmod any wii guide, so we know that all your IOS and cIOS are correct.

  10. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,381
    I got $5 on cIOS/DarkCORP.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •