Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: black screen, boot2, bad nand?

  1. #1

    Exclamation black screen, boot2, bad nand?

    Hi There
    I was wondering if you could help me. Over the weekend i was having a party and my daughter updated my soft moded wii from a new CD she got in error. It went from 4.2 to 4.3. I then went into bootmii and tried to restore the nand file with the back up i did and now all i am getting is a black screen. Please help.

    Thanks
    SD

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    Quote Originally Posted by stevdoyle
    Hi There
    I was wondering if you could help me. Over the weekend i was having a party and my daughter updated my soft moded wii from a new CD she got in error. It went from 4.2 to 4.3. I then went into bootmii and tried to restore the nand file with the back up i did and now all i am getting is a black screen. Please help.

    Thanks
    SD
    Is your Wii boot2, or did you ignore the warning about restoring VIA bootmii as Ios?

  3. #3
    yes i have boot2. I was away from home and i did not have access to the net. I softmoded my wii 1.5 years ago and i did not read any warning about restoring VIA bootmii as Ios. Any help would be appreciated

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    Ok, good. Try to restore it again. You are sure it was a good copy of your nand, right?

  5. #5

    Done that

    Quote Originally Posted by skellinator View Post
    Ok, good. Try to restore it again. You are sure it was a good copy of your nand, right?
    I tried to restore it again and nothing happened still the same. I am not sure if it is a good copy of my nand. I made that copy a while back. Does it make a difference that i made the nand copy after i did the hack?

    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    As long as its a good nand it doesn't matter when it was taken. Since you can get to bootmii you can probably launch hbc through it and remod your Wii.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by skellinator View Post
    As long as its a good nand it doesn't matter when it was taken. Since you can get to bootmii you can probably launch hbc through it and remod your Wii.
    I can't get into HBC through boot2 when I try to launch it the screen goes black

  8. #8
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Quote Originally Posted by stevdoyle View Post
    I can't get into HBC through boot2 when I try to launch it the screen goes black
    Download the HackMii Installer, put it on your SD card, and run bootmini.elf through BootMii. That will allow you to install the HBC again. Then you can follow the Softmod ANY Wii guide (link in my sig) starting from the spoiler titled "Softmods with HOMEBREW CHANNEL installed." Don't skip the optional step of installing the patched system menu.
    SM 4.1 (v499) - BootMii/IOS v1.5 - HBC 1.1.2 - Priiloader 0.8b6 - d2x v9(r49) - WiiFlow 4.1.1
    [SPOILER=Must read threads]Thinking About Hacking a Wii? Read This First.
    Brick Prevention
    Softmod ANY Wii (updated 03/30/2013)
    How To Run & Post A System Check[/SPOILER][SPOILER=Helpful threads]USB Compatibility List
    FAT32 Formatting
    WiiFlow Guide
    Troublesome Games And Their Solution
    Error Index[/SPOILER]
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  9. #9
    Hi
    I tried the Hackmii and i ran the bootmini.elf and i got a green screen for about 3 secs and then black screen after that noting happens. I dont know if it makes a difference but when ran the back up nand the first time there was a lot of green blocks and then when i ran the nand back up again there was about 98% grey unprocessed blocks and only very few green blocks.

  10. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    Since you have boot2 this is fixable. I am going to move all of your posts to the bricked section in your own thread. I am sure there is a cboot2 app that will fix you right up. Let the brick experts guide you on what and how to do it though.

    You could look through this thread too, maybe your issue is in there.
    Last edited by skellinator; 01-03-2012 at 09:29 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •