Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does Bannerbomb use an IOS?

  1. #1
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457

    Does Bannerbomb use an IOS?

    When I first wrote Update All Your IOS's, it was just for people who didn't want to update an IOS every time a new game/channel came out. However, it is starting to become a way to fix semi-bricks as well. In the event that a user installs a pack of corrupt IOS's, they can just reinstall good ones. Of course, that usually means that they can't use launch games and/or channels. That is why I started working on adding new launch methods. Right now it is just the HBC or cboot2 (although there are several ways to load cboot2). I have been working on adding bannerbomb, but it recently occurred to me that bannerbomb wouldn't work if it used an IOS that was corrupted. So that leads me back to my title.

    Does bannerbomb use an IOS, or does it run another way?
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  2. #2
    My guess is that it uses the System Menu IOS to boot. Don't quote me on that though.
    Try running Multi-Mod Manager or sysCheck via Bannerbomb, and see where it boots in.

  3. #3
    The exploit works by using a malformed banner to crash the Wii and run code to load the boot.dol placed in the root of the SD card
    Would use the system menu IOS if any.

    It's not hard to load an app via bannerbomb. Doesn't matter what IOS you have installed.

    My opinion is you give too many options in the guide and make what could be a simple guide more complicated. One option for people without HBC would be enough and one for people with HBC.

    Also that's not what a semi brick is. A corrupt IOS is rare and you shouldn't need to include anything in the guide for that as installing over top (just following the guide as is ) will fix it.
    Last edited by Krank; 01-10-2011 at 12:18 PM.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    My opinion is you give too many options in the guide and make what could be a simple guide more complicated. One option for people without HBC would be enough and one for people with HBC.
    This.

    It's the same thing I said to him, but Joostin is willing to help people who've corrupted all their IOSes, but that can still run the System Menu.

  5. #5
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    Would use the system menu IOS if any.

    It's not hard to load an app via bannerbomb. Doesn't matter what IOS you have installed. Also that's not what a semi brick is.

    My opinion is you give too many options in the guide and make what could be a simple guide more complicated. One option for people without HBC would be enough and one for people with HBC.
    I have come across a couple people recently who couldn't run games, channels (including the HBC), or Priiloader. Bannerbomb was the only thing that worked. After reinstalling all their IOS's, everything worked again. I didn't enjoy typing long instructions and making custom packs for both people. I was glad to help them, but it took a lot of time.

    I know it's not a "traditional" semi-brick, but they aren't full bricks, so it just seemed to fit best in the semi-brick category. I also get what you mean about the guide too complicated. I don't want to remove stuff, but perhaps I will just mark the HBC steps as a "preferred" method.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  6. #6
    didn't enjoy typing long instructions and making custom packs for both people
    Send them to mauifrogs or my blackscreen guide. Problem solved There is usually guides for everything here already, you just have to look for them.

    I know it's not a "traditional" semi-brick, but they aren't full bricks,
    It's not any kind of brick.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    @TheBandicootAddict: Thanks for the tip. You (and Krank) were right. It uses the System IOS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    It's not any kind of brick.
    Lol, so what is it? I assumed that when you lose all functionality besides changing settings and sending letters, that would count as a type of brick. I say we call it Mac Mode.

    Edit:
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    Send them to mauifrogs or my blackscreen guide. Problem solved
    I am well aware of your guides. There weren't any black screens, and it wasn't just one missing/outdated IOS. It was a whole pack of corrupt IOS's, and the Wii would freeze when inserting a disc or accessing Priiloader. Channels would just reset the Wii.
    Last edited by JoostinOnline; 01-10-2011 at 12:45 PM.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  8. #8
    I think you misunderstand. If the wii is that messed up then it should be fixed before following the guide, and that's not really on topic for an update your IOS guide. To fix HBC they could have followed the blackscreen guide then followed your guide to reinstall IOS if needed. If they don't have HBC they should follow a softmod guide (unless it's a hardmod user and they don't want to).

    Anyway, just my opinion. It's your guide
    Last edited by Krank; 01-10-2011 at 01:09 PM.
    Damn I suck!!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •