Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: After Installing Metroid: Other M Game Loaders Stopped Working

  1. #1

    After Installing Metroid: Other M Game Loaders Stopped Working

    I had modded my Wii back in June using Messie's turorial and it had been working great. I run 4.2u. After I installed Metroid Other M most of my games stopped working. Just get a black screen when I try to start the games. Other games will play, but go to a black screen when I try to exit. Have tryed to fix it but everything I do doesn't work. I've reinstalled everything but it has no effect. I'm wondering if I should virginize my Wii and start all over. I Had been using Usb Loader Gx, but tried neogammer and the same thing happens. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

    Forgot to say that Metroid never really worked properly even after following the directions on the forum. It actually got past the first movie but would crash at every cutscene.
    Last edited by nightstah; 10-27-2010 at 05:04 PM. Reason: You mean you forgot the "Edit" button

  2. #2
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Quote Originally Posted by bluering View Post
    I'm wondering if I should virginize my Wii and start all over.
    That is a terrible idea! Never do that!
    Don't feel bad, since a lot of people think it is a good one. The "start fresh" idea applies to most projects in life, but not at this. Completly rehacking might fix your problem (but there is probably an easier way), but you don't have to revirginize your Wii to do so. Any old hacks will be overwritten.

    I have a few questions. Can you post a syscheck? Does the original disc work? Did you update when you first ran the game?
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  3. #3
    Thanks. I really didn't want to virginise, but i was getting frustrated. I have to go and do some things right now, but I will run that syscheck sometime today and post the results. The original disc does still work, and I didn't update. One more thing though, I woke up one day and my wii had that blue light on like when its downloading something. I turned it off and I do have priiloader set to block updates.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Quote Originally Posted by bluering View Post
    Thanks. I really didn't want to virginise, but i was getting frustrated. I have to go and do some things right now, but I will run that syscheck sometime today and post the results. The original disc does still work, and I didn't update. One more thing though, I woke up one day and my wii had that blue light on like when its downloading something. I turned it off and I do have priiloader set to block updates.
    The blue light comes on if you have an unread message. Check your message board.

    Try using Configurable USB Loader instead. If you want to play from the disc, you need to install IOS56 (you can get it from the guide). I haven't used USB GX in a while (my games kept crashing), but if you changed the default cIOS to 222/223, instead of just M:OM, that might have messed up your other games. Also make sure that you installed v4, and not 5 or 5.1.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  5. #5
    Here's the syscheck. I also installed configurable USB loader but the same thing keeps happening, just a black screen for almost all of the games. I only changed the cIOS on M:OM and nothing else. I also had updated Homebrew recently, and i just saw another post that said that if you update HBC then you lose IOS 58. Could this be the problem? [SPOILER]sysCheck v2.0 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS61 (rev 5405).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.2 (v481)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 63862118
    Boot2 v4

    Found 109 titles.
    Found 36 IOS on this console. 9 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 778): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 269): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 273): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 520): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 523): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 775): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 782): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1037): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1550): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3091): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3348): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 3869): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5661): No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6687): No Patches
    IOS222 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 17): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10

    Report generated on 2010/10/27.
    [/SPOILER]
    Last edited by bluering; 10-27-2010 at 04:58 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Dr. House @ Wiihacks
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    19,042
    If this was strictly Messie's tutorial, IOS36 wouldn't be patched (yours is). You don't have IOS 58 installed. Should be irrelevant, as the game would use the cIOS (did you follow the Metroid: Other M guide, or what)? Original disc, backup --- what?

  7. #7
    I followed the M:OM guide from this site. It was an original disc. I already finished the game and really don't care about getting that working, it's (almost) all my other games that don't work. For example, Lego Batman will just go to a black screen as soon as I try to load it but Lego Harry Potter will load and play but when I try to exit to the Wii menu it goes to black. It seems that everything else is working, just when it goes to load the games that it screws up. I just bought the HDD in June (Seagate 250 GB) but I'm wondering if the HDD is messed up. Also, I think I started with a tutorial from Lifehacker but ended up following the instructions from this site to mod.
    Last edited by bluering; 10-27-2010 at 08:48 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •