Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: bootmii

  1. #1
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069

    bootmii

    I just finished mod on a friends 4.2u, I used messies guide.I can't install bootmii as boot2. Is there a workaround for this or is it just the way it is? On bootmii.org it explains that this is the case on some post '08 wiis. I am just checking with the experts to see if I missed something. When I modded my own 4.2 it wouldnt let me install as boot2 at first either. One of the hbc updates allowed me to finally do it though. Mine is pre '08 though. Thanks.

  2. #2
    No work around. Gotta install as IOS.
    Wii 4.1U - cIOS38 rev17 - 500gbHDD - Wiiflow 2.1 - uLoader 5.1 - Wimc 1.0.9 - Priiloader 0.5 - boot2 - gamecube launcher 2.0 - cMIOS rev3

  3. #3
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,450
    No, there is not work around. If you don't have a vulnerable Boot1 then it is impossible to install bootmii/boot2. You have to stick with the IOS install.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    That's what I thought, thanks. Fortunately its for a friend who will not be doing any of the silly things I like to do with mine! Should I make a nand copy anyhow? He just wanted to stop listening to his kid whine because his games wont play anymore. If he could keep the little ****** from tossing 'em around like toys he wouldn't have to go out and buy a hard drive. Just going to run usb loader.

  5. #5

    USB loader

    To use a USB loader, you have to install cIOS's, which may brick your wii.

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    Quote Originally Posted by m1r0 View Post
    To use a USB loader, you have to install cIOS's, which may brick your wii.
    Already took the gamble....... it's all good! I don't have to mess with anything else now.

  7. #7
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,450
    Quote Originally Posted by m1r0 View Post
    To use a USB loader, you have to install cIOS's, which may brick your wii.
    not very likely.

    @OP
    You should make a nand backup anyway. If the Wii was to ever brick, you wouldn't have the ease of reinstalling it yourself using bootmii but you could find someone to use a nand programmer that can to the job. With out a nand backup a fully bricked wii is no better then a door stop.

  8. #8
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,069
    As usual, Krafter is the voice of reason. Thanks

  9. #9
    Thread closed as question has been answered.
    Damn I suck!!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •