Thread: New to the Wii

New to the Wii

Hi guys

im very new to the wii and its software.
    i have done some research and want to be able to backup my games and play them without the disk, playing old school games and play dvd's.
    i like the idea of the wii homebrew channel but have no idea how to get it all up n running.

i got my wii a few weeks ago.. serial number is LAH11.. if that means anything and it came with Ver3.4E. i have not upgraded yet.

what do i need to do first to get started playing homebrew?

thanks in advanced!

Adam.

Your best bet is to read the TUTORIALS before you screw up your Wii !!!

iv been through the tutorials on here but im not sure which 1 is right 4 me. there r just soo many different ways of doing it and different ways to homebrew it

i have experience with modding the psp and jailbraking the iphone but i have no idea where to start with the wii

I am in the same position. I've hacked my PSP and jailbroken my iPod but I can't seem to figure out the Wii. I've been to the tutorial section and I am unsure of which tutorial to take.

Basically I want to play backups on my Wii. But I have no idea of how to do this or where the backups are stored (Do I need to buy a 32Gb SD card or can I store the games on a hard drive, e.t.c?)

I haven't bought an SD card yet and I'm wondering whether I'll need to buy, a large one to store all of my games, or use my 64MB one and use something else to store the games on. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.