Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Anybody got a Wii to play on a monitor?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sunny UK
    Posts
    17

    Anybody got a Wii to play on a monitor?

    Did a bit of searching on this site but could not find much on this subject.

    My other half loves watching soaps and practically hogs the telly all night while I surf away on my puter.

    So to help keep both of us happy, is it possible to get a Wii to play on a TFT monitor and has anybody successfully done this?

    I have a Samsung 226BW monitor with DVI and VGA connections

    I also have a USB TV card, would this be of any use?


    I've read a few forum threads but so far they are all just hear say and no replies from people who have actually succeeded with good results.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    I don't think it matters what kind of monitor you use as long as you can feed it a composite/svideo/component signal. You will have to positition the light bar in a decent spot. Of course you could use the candle trick and not use the light bar

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sunny UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by at90s2313 View Post
    I don't think it matters what kind of monitor you use as long as you can feed it a composite/svideo/component signal.

    May I ask if you have been successful in getting your Wii to work on a monitor?

  4. #4
    Well since you have a tv card... I also have usb and a pci tv card. What I used to do is I connected it to a dvd/vcr player so i could plug in my console. I used a windvr to view it on.
    Last edited by arkkostik; 01-25-2009 at 01:53 PM.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by the lemming View Post
    May I ask if you have been successful in getting your Wii to work on a monitor?
    Yep... several of them. You just have to be able to feed a signal to it. I have run it thru a TV card that had composite inputs, not as pretty as a TV but it worked. I also fed the svideo signal straight into the Compaq 18" LCD PC monitor since it has svideo inputs (dual input monitor w/ dual vga and DVI too). It would work with CRT type PC monitors too if you can feed the signal to it.

    My LCD tv is also a monitor and it works with that. Remember a LCD PC monitor is not all that different than a new LCD type tv. The main difference is the "TV" has tuners built into it. I have also seen numerous youtube videos where the Wii is running off a PC monitor.



    If you need assistance lemme know....


    This is the Compaq monitor I used. I got it free for working on a PC.
    Code:
    http://www.ciao.com/Compaq_TFT_8030__15458853
    Last edited by at90s2313; 01-26-2009 at 02:50 AM.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sunny UK
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by at90s2313 View Post
    Yep... several of them. You just have to be able to feed a signal to it. I have run it thru a TV card that had composite inputs, not as pretty as a TV but it worked.

    If you need assistance lemme know....


    This is the Compaq monitor I used. I got it free for working on a PC.
    Code:
    http://www.ciao.com/Compaq_TFT_8030__15458853

    Hello

    May I ask what you mean by 'not pretty' when you said that you managed to get a signal through your PCI TV card?

    Was the image on the monitor poor quality as to render the exercise just academic and spoiled the game play?

    I only have a USB TV card and a Graphics Card with two DVI slots.

    However my Laptop does have an S-Video connection to it but only a 15 inch display.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by the lemming View Post
    Hello

    May I ask what you mean by 'not pretty' when you said that you managed to get a signal through your PCI TV card?

    Was the image on the monitor poor quality as to render the exercise just academic and spoiled the game play?

    I only have a USB TV card and a Graphics Card with two DVI slots.

    However my Laptop does have an S-Video connection to it but only a 15 inch display.
    Well I can't vouche for any particular capture card except the one I have, V7700 Deluxe. It is really a video card with SVIDEO/RCA IN and OUT as well as vga out. The card is probably 8 years old so it is not up to snuff when it comes to PC gaming.
    Code:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/video-excursion-asus-v7700-deluxe,223-2.html
    The quality of the input is probably equal to a crt TV but certainly not as sweet as todays LCD tvs. On my card with Svideo the whites and light colors that are bright are a bit over saturated but not horrible. I am sure newer cards are better. I used the card for about 5 years feeding one of my satellite boxes to it so I could watch tv on that PC either full screen or in a window while working on the computer.

    That laptop is more than likely svideo OUT not in..... Not an option for the Wii.
    Last edited by at90s2313; 01-27-2009 at 02:54 AM. Reason: forgot to code a link

  8. #8
    Junior Member Jovanah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    38
    You can alway get a cable converter, It should do the trick. Quick search on ebay and i came up with the below.

    VGA to S-VIDEO / RCA CONVERTER CABLE ADAPTER FOR PC TV - eBay

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Jovanah View Post
    You can alway get a cable converter, It should do the trick. Quick search on ebay and i came up with the below.

    VGA to S-VIDEO / RCA CONVERTER CABLE ADAPTER FOR PC TV - eBay
    What you need is different. That cable is vga->svideo/rca not svideo/rca->vga

    That just converts a PC to be able to connect to a VCR, DVD recorder or older TV set. You can't easily convert from Svideo to VGA (without a box or capture card) which is opposite of what that ebay cable does. You need something like this.

    Code:
    http://www.buy.com/prod/GrandTec_Video_console_Video_to_VGA_Converter_SVideo_GVC_1000/q/loc/101/10402821.html
    Which is pointless if the poster already has a PC capture card that handles either rca or svideo. It just does the same thing as a capture card, but outside of the PC.


    If you are really into building one yourself there are schematics out there to do so.

    Code:
    http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electronics/schemview.php?id=2183

  10. #10
    Junior Member Jovanah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by at90s2313 View Post
    What you need is different. That cable is vga->svideo/rca not svideo/rca->vga

    That just converts a PC to be able to connect to a VCR, DVD recorder or older TV set. You can't easily convert from Svideo to VGA (without a box or capture card) which is opposite of what that ebay cable does.

    Oh i thought it would still work because the connects look right. oo well
    what about a Component -> VGA would that do the trick?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •