Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Odd problem with GameCube saves

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,526
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 959 Posts

    Odd problem with GameCube saves

    When ever I played Dragon Ball Z Budokai 2 the save data would update showing the last date I played, Budokai 1 still does this but Budokai 2 does not. I can't figure it out...it doesn't affect the way the safe works but I would still like to resolve it without having to start all over again from the beginning. Is there anyway I can check the GCI file for errors? I also have noticed when loading both Budokai 1 & 2s save files in Dolphin it gets confused and thinks they're from the same game... Please tell me there's a program I can use to fix this.

  2. #2
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 87 Times in 71 Posts
    I'm not sure if this would fix it, but do the games have the same name ?
    If so, I think Dolphin stores saves with the same filename as the game, but I'm not sure about that, only a guess.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,526
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 959 Posts
    The saves get named with the unique gameID and get called DragonballZ and DragonballZ2. So I don't see why it's confusing the card...maybe it has something to do with CRT-GCS cracking the copy protection code the file uses (normally you can't copy those games save files)?

  4. #4
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 87 Times in 71 Posts
    Huh, if it saves it using the games unique GAMEID, I don't have the slightest idea of why it does this. Definitely an odd problem you have here though, wish I could offer a little more help.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,526
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 959 Posts
    Do you know how to format a GC memory card? I can't remember how to do it and I was wondering if that may help. Move my saves to my second card, format the 1st card then move the saves back...doubt it will help but it's worth a try lol.

  6. #6
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 87 Times in 71 Posts
    I don't think it will give you the option to format the GC memory card unless it can't access it ( it can't read it at all ), you could try doing what you said, move them from the first card to the second.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,526
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 959 Posts
    Maybe I can forcefully corrupted so it'll make me format it lol

  8. #8
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 87 Times in 71 Posts
    Lol, I guess you could try that, not sure how you would do so. Eject it while saving, or install something to your Wii when it states " Unplug all GC Memory Cards " with the card in, I've done it and never had any trouble with it.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,526
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 1,218 Times in 959 Posts
    Well, I actually found a new build for GCMM that added formatting so I did that...but no luck. If I start a new file it updates the info properly. Budokai 2 is the only game with this issue (so far)

  10. #10
    Brawl Master DiscMurderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 87 Times in 71 Posts
    Does it do this only in Dolphin, or does it do this with Dios Mios / Devolution ? I'm going to see if I can figure out why exactly it does this

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •