Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Wii doesn't run GameCube games properly

  1. #1

    Wii doesn't run GameCube games properly

    Hi everyone,

    first of all, let me apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong section, I'm new here and I hope I'm doing things the right way

    Here is my problem: I recently got a used Wii that is supposed to be hard-modded with a D2Pro chip. This Wii seems to run Wii games fine, but has a problem when I try to run GameCube games. These games either do not start at all or run only for a few minutes then the Wii locks up showing the error message "An error has occured [...]". I'm only using original Nintendo discs, no backups.

    As I said I bought this Wii used so I know almost nothing about it. It does have GameCube controller ports and memory card slots, so it is definitely one of the models with backwards compatibility. However, it has custom dark blue case, so I do not know if it originally was a white, black, red or light blue Wii (I would suppose it definitely wasn't a light blue one, since these were not backwardly compatible and did not have GC controller ports, which this one has).

    I would like to know if you can help me figure out the following:

    1) how can I find out if the D2Pro chip is actually installed inside it ? Is opening the unit the only way to verify this ?
    2) as I understand it, this Wii has also been soft-modded since the Homebrew Channel is installed. I'm afraid that the problems with GameCube games are due to a poor softmod. I would like to remove completely all traces of the softmod and re-softmod it from scratch. Is that possible ?
    3) the system menu of this Wii is 4.2U, but I have read here that system menus 4.2 and 4.3 disable the ability of playing games from other regions (the previous owner must have restored this capability though, because the Wii does recognize PAL games through the disc channel). I would like to replace system menu 4.2 with 4.1, so I do not have this problem in the future. Is that possible ?

    This is my sysCheck:

    [spoiler]
    sysCheckv2.1.0b18 by Double_A and R2-D2199...runs on IOS61(rev 5405).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.2U(v481)
    Priiloaderinstalled
    Drive date:2006.09.07
    Homebrew Channel1.0.8 running on IOS61
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID:47812626
    Boot2 v4
    Found 60 titles.
    Found 36 IOS onthis console. 9 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 65280):Stub
    IOS9 (rev 778):No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768):Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256):Stub
    IOS12 (rev 269):No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 273):No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 520):No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 523):No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512):Stub
    IOS17 (rev 775):No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256):Stub
    IOS21 (rev 782):No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1037):No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1550):No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816):Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3349):No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3091):No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3348):No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3349):No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3351):No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 3869):No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 3867):No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120):Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864):Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5406):No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5406):No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5405):No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5661):No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 6400):Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5405):No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6687):No Patches
    IOS223[38] (rev4, Info: hermes-v4.0): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 1):Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249[57] (rev19, Info: rev 19): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    [/spoiler]

    Thanks to everyone

  2. #2
    Hi again guys...

    since nobody has answered yet I tried to solve the problem on my own by re-softmodding my Wii using the "Softmod any Wii" guide on this forum. Apparently, the softmod was successfully completed. Unfortunately however, I still have the same problem with Gamecube games. They lock up with the following error message:

    "An error has occurred. Turn the power OFF
    and check the NINTENDO GAMECUBE(TM)
    instruction booklet for further instructions."

    either immediately or after a few minutes of gameplay. Usually, when I first insert a game after the Wii has been shut off for a few hours it does run for a few minutes, but eventually it always comes up with that error. When I reboot the system however, it doesn't even start anymore and directly shows the error message. This happens both if I start the game from the disc channel or through the NeoGamma loader. Wii games run fine.

    This is my new syscheck:

    [spoiler]
    sysCheckv2.1.0b18 by Double_A and R2-D2199...runson IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region:NTSC-U
    SystemMenu 4.1U (v449)
    Priiloaderinstalled
    Drivedate: 2006.09.07
    HomebrewChannel 1.1.0 running on IOS58
    Hollywoodv0x11
    ConsoleID: 47812626
    Boot2v4
    Found78 titles.
    Found52 IOS on this console. 3 of them are stub.

    IOS4(rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS10(rev 768): Stub
    IOS11(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS12(rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13(rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14(rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15(rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16(rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS17(rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS21(rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22(rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28(rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS31(rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33(rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34(rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35(rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36(rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37(rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38(rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS41(rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43(rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45(rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46(rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48(rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS51(rev 4864): Stub
    IOS53(rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55(rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56(rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57(rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58(rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS61(rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS80(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS90(rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS202[60](rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38](rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223[38+37](rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224[57](rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236(rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS245[37](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS246[38](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247[53](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS248[55](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249[56](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[57](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS251[58](rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254(rev 65281): BootMii
    BCv6
    MIOS v65535
    [/spoiler]

    Please, can anyone give me a hand to understand what is going on ? Thank you.

  3. #3

    Bump!

    Hi Guys,

    I have basically the same problem =(

    After rounding the "softmod any wii" tutorial succesfully, I can't play GC games properly anymore.

    I also have it hardmodded, though I don't know which chip and it was a long time ago.

    I have system version 4.3E (as the softmod guide suggested).

    I softmodded it because it was much easier without CD's (external harddrive)

    I got the windwaker for christmas and now I can't enjoy it =(

    Is there any solution for this yet? I would love some help here =/ And Flavio too I guess =/

    Greetz,

    Mick
    Netherlands.

    P.s. I used this thread because it pretty much was de same problem.
    P.s.2. Neogamma gives the exact same message qouted in flavio's message above.

  4. #4
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Are you loading from disc or HDD?

    If from disc, I think you need to install stock MIOS.

    Sent from my A75 using Tapatalk 2

  5. #5
    Thanks for the quick reply, no it is the original limited edition gamecube DVD/CD from zelda:windwaker.
    With a new GC controller and memory card.

    I tested it before I wrapped it for christmas, ( I didn't have a memory card at that time, so I only played for like 10 minutes, no problems then).
    A week AFTER that I softmodded the wii, and now after unwrapping the present and playing it with the memory card the DISC becomes unreadable after like 15 minutes or so, after that it couldn't even see the disc anymore (I also tried with NeoGamma).

    In short, yes it is from disc. I assume I can find a thread for installing stock MIOS on the forum somewhere?
    And is my wii still softmodded after installing stock MIOS? =3

    Thanks again for the fast reply! ( I was stilling browsing through other threads =) )

  6. #6
    New Member kunparekh18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomick View Post
    Thanks for the quick reply, no it is the original limited edition gamecube DVD/CD from zelda:windwaker.
    With a new GC controller and memory card.

    I tested it before I wrapped it for christmas, ( I didn't have a memory card at that time, so I only played for like 10 minutes, no problems then).
    A week AFTER that I softmodded the wii, and now after unwrapping the present and playing it with the memory card the DISC becomes unreadable after like 15 minutes or so, after that it couldn't even see the disc anymore (I also tried with NeoGamma).

    In short, yes it is from disc. I assume I can find a thread for installing stock MIOS on the forum somewhere?
    And is my wii still softmodded after installing stock MIOS? =3

    Thanks again for the fast reply! ( I was stilling browsing through other threads =) )
    You know NUS Downloader, right? Download from it. And yes, your Wii still remains softmodded. Don't worry

    Sent from my A75 using Tapatalk 2

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,381
    It sounds like your chip isn't getting along with the Softmod. Out of curiosity why did you Softmod if you have a chip? I'm pretty sure chips allow you to USB Load too...or so I've been told...I guess it may depend on which chip though.

  8. #8
    I actually don't know NUS downloader it was not mentioned in the softmod guide, lol.

    I am kinda new to this, I only softmodded it like 2 weeks ago =P.

    Can I just use this thread? http://www.wiihacks.com/other-faq-gu...os-v2-0-a.html

    Or is it much easier with NUS downloader? ( found this, though it hasn't given me very much clarifaction about how it relates to installing the stock MIOS : NUS Downloader - WiiBrew )

    p.s. sorry for all the questions, I get it if you are too busy to answer, at the moment I have enough to research on, if I still can't figure this out, I'll ask again.

    p.s2. Sorry for the bad punctuations =P


    @SNES_Master well because I thought I needed to softmod it to let backupped games be playable via an external drive.
    + It couldn't do any harm, the softmod guide was really easy to follow


    Note from SNES_Master: Please use the edit function
    Last edited by SNES_Master; 12-27-2012 at 07:02 PM.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    VWA
    SNES_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4,381
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomick
    @SNES_Master well because I thought I needed to softmod it to let backupped games be playable via an external drive.
    + It couldn't do any harm, the softmod guide was really easy to follow
    Hmm. I edited this to your previous post with a note. Strangely I cannot delete posts from my iPhone any more...
    Anyway in regards to the comment, thanks for explaining
    As long as you follow the other guys advice you should be ok.

  10. #10
    So the reply to kunparekh18 is gone? =P
    Damn, it was a long one =/.

    I still don't know what NUS downloader is? And can I just use the dios mios 2.0 -2.4 guide to make it work? =X

    If really can't figure it out I'll just reply again here, but for now I would like to thank you guys for all the help!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •