What is Lost After Formatting the System Memory?
When the Wii System Memory is formatted, most of the information stored on the system is erased; however, some information will remain.
What is Lost:
Wii System Settings (Parental Controls, Internet Settings, etc.)
Game Save Data
Channel Save Data
Downloaded Virtual Console Games (licenses are retained)
Downloaded WiiWare Games (licenses are retained)
Downloaded Channels - Everybody Votes, Internet Channel, etc. (licenses are retained)
Custom Channel Settings
Message Board Content
Wii Number (this will change to a new number)
What is Retained:
Current Operating System
Licenses for all downloaded games and channels from the Wii Shop Channel (save information will be lost, and they will need to be re-downloaded)
Data stored on external accessories (SD card, GCN Memory Card, etc.)