No. installing one on top of another overwrites it.
you say in the guide Cluster size set automatically but i need at lest 32 to run gamecube games with dmios and it only gave me 16. Is it ok if i format it again with 32kb or is 16 fine ?
Look at what Microsoft says on the subject. The size of the drive is what determines the defaults to be. A default is simply that, a default --- a value that can be changed (you'd lose any data on it by changing this or reformatting the drive).
soooooo i guess that was a , yes ? I only asked because i won't be following the guide if i had changed it and following guides exactly is what i like to do.
You need the 32k cluster size for your GC concerns. Logic dictates that if that particular application or guide tells you this, by changing the default (based on drive size) you will not blow up your drive, alter the earth's axis, cause a time-space rift, or brick your Wii.
Let me put it this way: is your drive this size ---> 16,384 MB to 32,767 MB 16 KB <---? If so, that's why it's got 16k. Smaller drives have smaller clusters, larger drives have larger clusters. It's an efficiency thing, you may alter it to achieve your goal.
Heehee u talk funny, i like it. OK ill do just that thanks for the help :rolleyes:
Hey guys! I have followed this guide to a tee, and my hard drive doesnt want to stay on 32kb cluster size. I format it to FAT32, but every time it finished, I tested it using the "Create new text document" method, and my "size on disk" keeps showing up as 64 kb. Im using EASE US manager, and im not sure where to go from here. I have a My Passport hard drive that I checked on the compatibility list before buying, so everything SHOULD be working okay.
Thanks in advance.
If you are using EaseUS, I've found that if you remove the partition and recreate it, it will be 64k clusters.
Instead, select the partition that you want to format and choose FORMAT, then you will be able to choose FAT32 with 32k clusters. When you choose Apply afterwards, then it should be correct.
So either you are deleting and recreating partitions, or forgetting to apply your changes?