Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Unboxing of FSP 88 Plus Everest 700W Power Supply Unit.

  1. #1
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Unboxing of FSP 88 Plus Everest 700W Power Supply Unit.

    I won this Power Supply in a game competition for the absolutely superb PC game Shattered Horizon and thought I'd post a short review of my unboxing and examination of this 80-90 power supply.

    This power supply is the FSP 88 Plus Everest 700W Power Supply Unit (Modular) Still not really available in the UK as this is the latest model from Japan. Previous models were the 85Plus and the 80Plus Everests.

    Nicely presented box.



    Lots of connections.



    Similar output 18A on the 12v rails to my OCZ 600W but I'd imagine a higher achievable load across all rails more towards the 700W rating of the unit. Indeed the Everest range has been shown to perform around 50W above it's maximum output.



    Lots of wiring, some attached, some on cables. First Modular PSU for me, so looking to not connect some of them for tidiness of the case.





    Shiny. Is it really important to have a shiny PSU? Probably not. Last shiny PSU I had was a Q-Tec cheap supply that lasted 2 months. Hopefully this will be better.



    I will probably not like the fan noise and change it for a Scythe S-Flex. Not bothered about looks.



    The sign of a quality PSU used to be the weight but these days with near 90% efficiency they do not need to build such large heatsinks into their units, nevertheless this PSU has a solid feel about it.

    I will be building this PSU into a new Antec P183 when I actually get around to buying it. I'm finding my top mounted PSU getting too much heat from my CPU heatsink and would rather have it separated as in the Antec case.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  2. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  3. #2
    New Member crazycastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lincs, uk
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 63 Times in 46 Posts
    I'm surprised that your running that rig on only a 600w psu! I know I bought a cheap one but I burnt out a 600w on mine and had to get a 800w which actually boosted performance. This new psu of yours is nice to look at and I hope it all runs well. And even if it doesn't, nothing lost hey.

    Asus P5K-E/WIFI-AP, D/C E8200 2.66ghz (oc to 3.4) 2x1gb ddr2 ram(oc speed), 2x512mb ATIx1950xtx ddr4(also OC), Air cooled with 2 rear small fans, 1 250mm side fan, 1 150mm front fan and stock cpu cooler. Still nothing on yours! Wish I had more funds available.

    If I've helped please click the THANKS tab!

    Ciosx rev19 base ios57, Hermes v5, Wiimc on 202, Neogamma R9b8

    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

    dogeggs 3.1-4.1/Shadowsonics 4.2/Error Index/SysCheck 1.61

  4. #3
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I did my homework before committing to a 600W supply. I determined that I needed around 500W-550W for a i7 920 at 4Ghz along with a 4890 so went up a bit and bought the OCZ because it is actually based on a 700W unit and in tests was still stable above maximum power draw.

    Considering that playing games only stresses the Graphics card but not the CPU I am not too concerned about it being a close run thing. When running any game I see 10-15% CPU utilisation and it only rises about 10 degrees over idle instead of 30 degrees under Prime95.

    A cheap unit may only have a 12v rail of as little as 30A, which is only 360W on the all important 12v rail. Good supplies tend to have a lot of the power in the 12v band.

    I deserved this PC build, I hadn't upgraded anything beyond a hard drive since 2005 so enjoyed a massive performance boost.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  5. #4
    New Member crazycastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lincs, uk
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 63 Times in 46 Posts
    Feels good when you turn it on fro the first time and it all lights up and ......... yes windows boots,lol. Saved for ages and by the time I finally switched it on some components were probably out of warranty! Now I got the PC,xbox 360 and the Wii connected to the Tv I know I won't be able to upgrade for a while. Although i think I'm gonna upgrade some of the fans to more quite ones. When under pressure they make a racket. Maybe you could recomend some and I gotta give that hung hdd a go.

    If I've helped please click the THANKS tab!

    Ciosx rev19 base ios57, Hermes v5, Wiimc on 202, Neogamma R9b8

    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

    dogeggs 3.1-4.1/Shadowsonics 4.2/Error Index/SysCheck 1.61

  6. #5
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use 2x Noctua NF-P12 on my CPU Cooler, it's a NH-U12P cooler, down volted to around 1,000 rpm instead of 1,500. At idle I have them down at 400rpm.

    I have a Scythe S-flex 1600 120mm in my PSU, I modded out the noisy 2,000rpm for a quiet fan. Spins up to around 1,300 when oclocked so is not as silent as I'd like (I blame top mounting) This is the noisiest component in the case at idle.

    I have a Xilence XPF120R Red Wing 120mm fan as exhaust at around 8v, maybe 900rpm and is silent. A cheap silent fan but it's only a case fan so meh.

    The HD 4890 is the Vapor-X type but still makes quite a noise under loading, it usually spins up to 60% speed when playing for a while and it's noisy. Was thinking about using a Prolimatech MK-13 with Noctua NF-P12 or two, or possibly waiting for the soon to be released sealed water cooling units like the Corsair H50.

    The elastic holding the HDD are called bungee cord, I think those are the 3mm variety held in place with little plastic eyes which I forget the name of, not 100% necessary but gives you a way to screw them to the HDD casing.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    New Member crazycastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lincs, uk
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 63 Times in 46 Posts
    Thanks Tealc, I am definately going to look into them and others. All mine are standard and quite noisy(except the two 100mm exhaust fans on back). The x1950xtx are noisy but run at just under 80`c each and the built in fans on them are LOUD.
    I like the idea of water cooling but not looked into it as yet. seen some wicked mat black cases with this luminous green liquid bottle bolted to the side. looks mental.
    But saying all that, now that I swapped an old laptop for a 360 I don't play the games on this as much anymore, especially as the graphics cards really need updating. A couple of games i've tried lately ask for a min of HD2xxx even though my x1950xtx's seem more powerfull on spec.
    Anyway I'll stop distracting you from editing thread titles while I play wrap up playing Splinter Cell conviction and look into these bits tomorrow after work.
    Enjoy the rest of your evening.

    If I've helped please click the THANKS tab!

    Ciosx rev19 base ios57, Hermes v5, Wiimc on 202, Neogamma R9b8

    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

    dogeggs 3.1-4.1/Shadowsonics 4.2/Error Index/SysCheck 1.61

  9. #7
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have a look at [url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/]spcr]/url] for ideas. At the moment the nice mid-range card to get is the 5770, you can get a stock model for just over a ton. It has a very low idle and load power requirement and equals a 4870 in terms of performance.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  10. 1 User Says Thank You Tealc For This Useful Post


  11. #8
    New Member crazycastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lincs, uk
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 63 Times in 46 Posts
    That is a great value for money card on spec. Now i'm going to have to start putting the pennies in the jar again,lol. Be nice to have just the one card to cut down on heat and noise. Think i'm coming down with the upgrade bug.... AGAIN. What will the wife say? Cheers for the link, your a top guy!

    If I've helped please click the THANKS tab!

    Ciosx rev19 base ios57, Hermes v5, Wiimc on 202, Neogamma R9b8

    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

    dogeggs 3.1-4.1/Shadowsonics 4.2/Error Index/SysCheck 1.61

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •