Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Help diagnose problem please --- Diagnosis: No Thread Title

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Help diagnose problem please --- cannot sync wiimotes or load dols

    My wii will boot and take me to the health screen and eventually to the system menu, but I cannot sync any wiimotes to it anymore even after holding the sync button for 15 seconds, and trying all the suggestions I could find to sync (replacing batteries, power cable, etc.).

    I thought it could be the BT module but wiimotes will turn the wii on but not off. Does that mean the BT module is ok?

    I don't really know what happened to this wii since it was taken to college for a semester - but I'd appreciate any ideas to help troubleshoot. Thanks in advance!

    ETA: I've tried a few different things recommended in this thread but I cannot sync a wiimote and cannot load a dol from priiloader. Looking for advice on loading a dol - each step I took is explained in this thread below.
    Last edited by L2thueka; 01-13-2011 at 04:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member streamlinehd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 557 Times in 377 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    So the Wiimote turns the Wii on but doesn't stay synced? Is it synced (do you see a solid blue light on the wiimote) at the Health Warning screen? A bad bt module usually results in a black screen and no access to the system menu at all.
    Last edited by streamlinehd; 12-24-2010 at 08:43 AM.
    Cogita ante salis
    If you're happy with the help I provided, don't forget to hit my thanks button


  3. 1 User Says Thank You streamlinehd For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, any wiimote will turn on the wii - even one from a friend's wii. No, none of the wiimotes will sync they just blink 4 lights while I push/hold/whatever the red buttons on the wiimote or console.

  5. #4
    Junior Member streamlinehd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 557 Times in 377 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    That's an odd issue to have. I'm quite sure the issue isn't with your BT module (although i'm not ruling that out) and it may have to do with some sort of corrupt system menu. Do you have Bootmii installed as boot2 (the drive light will blink twice rapidly at startup if you do) and a backup of your NAND?
    Last edited by streamlinehd; 12-24-2010 at 08:55 AM.
    Cogita ante salis
    If you're happy with the help I provided, don't forget to hit my thanks button


  6. 1 User Says Thank You streamlinehd For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The light blinks once when powered up - so I'd guess that it does not have bootmii? I do not have a backup

  8. #6
    Junior Member streamlinehd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 557 Times in 377 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by L2thueka View Post
    The light blinks once when powered up - so I'd guess that it does not have bootmii? I do not have a backup
    Do you know if the Wii was ever modded?
    Cogita ante salis
    If you're happy with the help I provided, don't forget to hit my thanks button


  9. 1 User Says Thank You streamlinehd For This Useful Post


  10. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I believe (95% certain) it was softmodded because one of the programs on the menu is USB loader GX and I don't see any indication that it has been opened.

  11. #8
    Junior Member streamlinehd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 557 Times in 377 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Your issue is either a bad bt module or a corrupt system menu.

    It's going to be difficult to further diagnose without a wiimote and no boot2 Bootmii. Check to see if you have Priiloader by pressing and holding the reset button at startup.

    What system menu is the Wii currently running?
    Last edited by streamlinehd; 12-24-2010 at 09:12 AM.
    Cogita ante salis
    If you're happy with the help I provided, don't forget to hit my thanks button


  12. 1 User Says Thank You streamlinehd For This Useful Post


  13. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not sure since I can't navigate the menu (looking for a GC controller right now), but it is a relatively new US version (has SD card in the bottom left) - my guess would be 4.2U, but I don't know until I find a GC controller. If it helps, it is a white Wii (12-18 months old I think)

  14. #10
    Junior Member streamlinehd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,369
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 557 Times in 377 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Check for Priiloader by pressing and holding the reset button at startup. Do not release the reset button until either a Priiloader screen appears or the health warning screen appears. Let me know what the results are.
    Cogita ante salis
    If you're happy with the help I provided, don't forget to hit my thanks button


  15. 1 User Says Thank You streamlinehd For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •