Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dead Space: Extraction

  1. #1
    New Member fredrogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts

    Dead Space: Extraction

    Dead Space: Extraction

    Fist off, this is a rail shooter. This is not a first person shooter. Now that that is out of the way; this game is a lot of fun. The basic story is you are on an alien planet and all hell breaks lose. The voice acting is OK and the story is as good as any. So far (I have not finished the game) it is the typical every one is going crazy and killing people. Then weird aliens show up with more death and destruction.

    Controls:

    I use a Nyko Perfect shot to play this game. The controls are great. If you are using the Perfect shot or the Zapper be sure to update the settings in the game options. You fire your gun with the B button or hold the wiimote sideways to get alternate fire mode. You use the nunchuck to reload your gun by shaking it. The Z button grabs things like ammo and health packs. But it also will grab objects that you can then shoot them to throw the item. The C button shoots a freeze ray the will stop baddies in their tracks. The joystick on the nuncuck switches guns. If you point the wiimote off screen and shake the nunchuck you get a melee attack.

    Game play:

    Most of the enemy can be stopped by shooting off their legs and arms. This is a cool effect. There are also a lot of things you can grab in every scene. The puzzles are well done and seem to fit in. In one scene you have to solder a control board to fix a lift while you are shooting a whole butch of baddies.

    Design:

    The graphics are dark, very dark. I had to adjust the brightness for it to look right on my TV.

    The people look great. They did a good job with the models. The enemies look awesome. There are a lot of types of baddies and they all look like they mean business.

    The environments are well done with lots of little touches.


    The Good:

    It is a fun game.
    There is a lot more going on then just shooting everything that moves.
    Shooting off limbs is just cool.

    The Bad:

    Does every rail shooter have to be about the undead?

    Over all I would give it a 9/10. The addition of more ways to interact with the game, i.e. grabbing stuff, 2 fire modes, freezing things, ect., really sets this apart from other rail shooters.

    -=fred=-
    Last edited by fredrogers; 10-11-2009 at 11:22 AM.

  2. 3 Users Say Thank You to fredrogers For This Useful Post


  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,162
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 1,326 Times in 418 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Not a bad review, simple and to the point but may I add:

    The Flamethrower kicks major ass use it along with melee attacks and you'll never get hit once and the bonus material you unlock (comics) helps explain what happens before the events in the game.
    Last edited by Favs; 10-06-2009 at 03:17 PM.

  4. #3
    Member dr34m3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    657
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 201 Times in 180 Posts
    Good reviews I guess I am going to have to try it out.

  5. #4
    Junior Member The Great Plains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I felt the v/o to be pretty bad, with lots of cheesy dialogue. But that's just me. I've played through the game a few times but I still don't understand anything, the ending was really random and confusing. Pretty good review though.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3,162
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 1,326 Times in 418 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did you watch the comics they somewhat explain what happens before the game and I agree the ending was kinda crap.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    Sounds good, just bought a Nyko Perfect Shot from eBay to kick some alien ass!!!!!!

  8. #7
    Junior Member The Great Plains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Favs View Post
    Did you watch the comics they somewhat explain what happens before the game and I agree the ending was kinda crap.
    I did watch the comics, it explained a little bit but not enough to get a full understanding.

    I'm Canadian?!?!

  9. #8
    New Member fredrogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stewy View Post
    Sounds good, just bought a Nyko Perfect Shot from eBay to kick some alien ass!!!!!!


    I love my perfect shot! Works like a champ.

    -=fred=-

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    One of the better Wii games and the on rails method is great.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    update

    Good review. I just got it and its asking me to update in order to play it. Just wondering if it would be safe to update? I've herd the new update is bricking wii and im very cautious about updating anything.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •