Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Another SSBB burning thread

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    @caddy24: Most DVD burners bought within the last three years should be able to burn DVD+R DL. (I have a LiteOn SOHW-812 from three years ago and it was the last of the LiteOns which did not support it... unless you used a hacked firmware for the SOHW-832 ).

    It was one of those features that they were easily able to add at that point and then charge you 20-30$ more for the same product because it had a new "feature". This isn't to say that any burner from back then could be upgraded in that fashion, but surely if you have a recent computer you should have a recent burner capable of burning such a disk.

    @tha_toadman: If your burner supports booktype, you should set it to DVD-ROM. If you have Nero, you can go into Nero CD-DVD Drive Speed, go to the Extra menu, Bitsetting, and then change the booktypes for all the settings to DVD-ROM (if your burner supports it and if Nero supports it) and Set it. If it's all greyed out, it means Nero doesn't support the drive or it can't booktype.

    Then you can close it down and use ImgBurn to burn it using the specified layer split.

    If you have a Pioneer 215 or 216 SATA burner, apparently it automatically booktypes DVD+R DL media. Otherwise, most other burners need Nero or some other supplemental software to do it.

  2. #22
    New Member DJKrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    You also have to make sure, I have an older lite on and had to download a hacked firmware and a utility to change my book types. It's all about the drive you have that is key to burning successfully. I'm picking up some +R DL's tonight to try SSBB.
    Send soldiers. Send armies. Send them all.
    --Black Adam

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Erm, if you have an older drive, make sure you get the newest firmware. If the drive doesn't have a media profile for that disk, it will probably come out badly, in which case you can either try to find a program that will let you modify the profiles (like Omnipatcher, though I dunno if they even maintain it anymore) and specify the correct settings OR simply get a new burner (annoying that they don't keep old stuff up to date when it's still perfectly good).

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Ok so here's my results...

    I did get it to burn successfully with a Verbatim DVD-R DL. I ripped it with my LG (using Friidump) and then with the ISO, I just used ImgBurn and wrote the image...didn't tweak a single thing.

    When I went in to play the game, I saw it on the menu and it was there. BUT...when I clicked on it, I got a "Error #001 - Unathorized device detected" black screen. I've heard on here before what to do in this situation so I loaded up good ol' Homebrew Channel. I launched Gecko OS and after a few seconds and some text on the screen...it launched the game!

    It would really be nice to know though how to get past that Error screen without having to go thru Gecko to play the game.
    Last edited by tha_toadman; 10-30-2008 at 03:55 PM.

  5. #25
    New Member DJKrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I bought some +R DL's and burned a copy, verified and it worked fine, went to play it and got an error. WTF? Layer break is set correctly and I checked the image and it's good. What else now?
    Send soldiers. Send armies. Send them all.
    --Black Adam

  6. #26
    Wiihacks Recommended
    Pro Installer/Store
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Depends on the media type. I've had some Wiis that will refuse to read Verbatim or Sony DL, but will read a Memorex.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DJKrafty View Post
    I bought some +R DL's and burned a copy, verified and it worked fine, went to play it and got an error. WTF? Layer break is set correctly and I checked the image and it's good. What else now?
    ..Krafty...did you read my post right above yours?

    Try GeckoOS and it should work.

  8. #28
    New Member DJKrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Yes. I tried that and all the copies I burned work. I would also like to know how to play it without using Gecko. Aside from the obvious answer of buying the game.
    Send soldiers. Send armies. Send them all.
    --Black Adam

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •