Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Need some advice :) also a thread title wouldn't hurt either

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Need some advice :) also a thread title wouldn't hurt either

    Hey all,

    I soft modded my wii about 3-4 months ago it works great thanks to the forums

    Here is my question ... Recently my house got hit by lightning along with a few other things such as my brand new pc and router the Wii will no longer display a picture just sound. Now its still under warranty but I'm worried they would look it over and see that its been soft modded, is there any way to reset this maybe or am I SoL?

    Thanks in advance,
    dimerbox
    Last edited by oddgriffin; 06-20-2010 at 09:45 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,307
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Moved to bricked section of the site.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    423
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dimerbox View Post
    Hey all,

    I soft modded my wii about 3-4 months ago it works great thanks to the forums

    Here is my question ... Recently my house got hit by lightning along with a few other things such as my brand new pc and router the Wii will no longer display a picture just sound. Now its still under warranty but I'm worried they would look it over and see that its been soft modded, is there any way to reset this maybe or am I SoL?

    Thanks in advance,
    dimerbox
    Usually that mean full brick. I don't see why it couldn't be fixed, unless the bootloader or your system IOS were fried. Did you have bootmii as boot 2 and/or priiloader installed (I assume if you followed these forums you do)? If you do not have either of those, Try getting a savemiifrii recovery mode by pressing down on all directional pads on a gamecube controller. If your firmware version & region appear in the bottom-right corner of the screen it is fixable. But first, do you have bootmii or priiloader & what firmware version is your wii?

    RedArrow

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    DA KINE WiiHacker
    mauifrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    9,180
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 9,570 Times in 2,972 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    do you have priiloader, bootmii, etc? if so you can brick it before sending it out.
    Ipsa scientia potestas est.


    Warning: Piracy is NOT supported. Word your questions carefully.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    423
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    I agree with mauifrog, sending your wii to nintendo is probably a better option, NAND flashing is really hard if your inexperienced. Although perhaps Nintendo will be more lenient towards you if they know that your wii was shut down by lightning & it wasn't your fault. Usually they either charge you or refuse to fix it if they know you bricked it yourself with illegal software, & they will let you suffer.

    RedArrow

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey guys thanks for the advice, Sorry what I was meaning to also say in this is : When I softmod the Wii does it put the homebrew and other software onto my hd or does it just run everything off the SD card that I have to put in ?
    Also yes used Priiloader. I may try and get a new video cord to see if that will fix it or not .

    Thanks!
    Last edited by dimerbox; 06-22-2010 at 09:56 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,304
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 320 Times in 240 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    there isnt a video card in the Wii.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,307
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad_Ad84 View Post
    there isnt a video card in the Wii.
    It seems the previous poster did a typo and fixed it to say what he meant --- thanks for pointing that out, Bad

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,304
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 320 Times in 240 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Figured they thought it was removable like wifi, bluetooth etc.

    Suppose its not out the realms of possibility if you have never opened one. wasnt attempting to be a smart ass, even if it sounded like it

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,307
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    If that's addressed to me, the thought never entered my mind relating to the tone of your post. We're good and of course appreciate your continued support.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •